## **The ACT Electoral Commission**

A

5

Primary school

H

F

## ACT Electoral Commission

The ACT Electoral Commission is responsible for:

- Running elections for the Legislative Assembly of the Australian Capital Territory
- Changing electorate boundaries to make sure they are fair.

The ACT Electoral Commission is also known as Elections ACT for short.

Elections ACT gives information about elections to the:

- Speaker
- Parliament
- Government ministers
- People living in the ACT
- Political parties and candidates.

Elections ACT can also be asked to run elections for other groups. These groups can be:

- Schools
- Public service
- Other organisations.

## More information

You can find out more from Elections ACT. The contact details are at the bottom of this page.

Information Elections ACT can supply includes:

- Fact sheets
- Election statistics.

1988	<ul> <li>ACT self-government bills introduced into Commonwealth parliament with Royal Assent being given on 6 December 1988.</li> <li>Elections were run according to the Australian Capital Territory (Electoral) Act 1988.</li> </ul>
1989	<ul> <li>First ACT Legislative Assembly election was held on 4 March 1989 using the modified d'Hondt electoral system.</li> <li>ACT voted as a single electorate.</li> <li>Members of the Legislative Assembly are elected for fixed 3 year terms.</li> </ul>
1991	<ul> <li>Commonwealth parliament legislated to give control of the ACT electoral system to the people of the ACT.</li> <li>The Australian Capital Territory (Electoral) Amendment Act 1991 sets out conditions for a referendum on an ACT electoral system to choose between a single member electorate system or Hare-Clark proportional representation system.</li> </ul>
1992	<ul> <li>Second ACT Legislative Assembly election was held on 15 February 1992 using the modified d'Hondt system again.</li> <li>Referendum to choose a new electoral system was held at the same time as the election.</li> <li>The Hare-Clark electoral system was chosen. 65.3% of people voted for this system.</li> <li>ACT Electoral Commission established by <i>Electoral Act 1992</i>.</li> </ul>
1995	<ul> <li>Third ACT Legislative Assembly election held on 18 February 1995 using the Hare-Clark electoral system for the first time.</li> <li>ACT divided into 3 multi-member electorates: Brindabella with 5 MLAs, Ginninderra with 5 MLAs and Molonglo with 7 MLAs.</li> <li>Entrenchment referendum on the Hare-Clark system. Entrenchment means that the electoral system can only be changed by another referendum or by a special majority of two-thirds of the Assembly.</li> </ul>
1998	<ul> <li>Fourth ACT Legislative Assembly election was held on 21 February 1998.</li> <li>Elections moved from third Saturday in February to third Saturday in October every 3 years.</li> </ul>
2001	<ul> <li>Fifth ACT Legislative Assembly election was held on 20 October 2001.</li> <li>New electorate boundaries used at this election after a redistribution in 2000.</li> <li>Electronic voting used for the first time for an ACT election.</li> </ul>
2004	<ul> <li>Sixth ACT Legislative Assembly election was held on 16 October 2004.</li> <li>Elections changed from third Saturday in October every 3 years to every 4 years.</li> <li>Members now elected for fixed 4 year terms.</li> </ul>
2008	<ul> <li>Seventh ACT Legislative Assembly election was held on 18 October 2008.</li> <li>New electorate boundaries used at this election after a redistribution in 2007.</li> </ul>
2012	<ul> <li>Eighth ACT Legislative Assembly election was held on 20 October 2012.</li> <li>New electorate boundaries used at this election after a redistribution in 2011.</li> </ul>
2016	<ul> <li>Legislation was enacted by the Legislative Assembly in 2014 to increase the size of the Assembly to 25 members.</li> <li>A redistribution was carried out in 2015 to create 5 new electorates, each electing 5 MLAs.</li> <li>New electorates are Brindabella, Ginninderra, Kurrajong, Murrumbidgee and Yerrabi.</li> <li>New electorate boundaries applied from the ninth ACT Legislative Assembly election held on 15 October 2016</li> </ul>
2020	<ul> <li>Tenth ACT Legislative Assembly election was held on 17 October 2020.</li> <li>New electorate boundaries used at this election after a redistribution in 2019.</li> </ul>